Provincetown
Theme Weeks & Events

EVERYTHING YOU NEED FOR 2020

ptownie lists the best of theme weeks, events, festivals, and more!
View the Full Calendar
NOTE: Information subject to change. Please be sure to refer to ptownie’s Provincetown COVID-19 update page for the most up to date information.

May 2020

Run to the Top – (Postponed and Rescheduled for November 7)
May 9, 2020

Walking the Provincetown Pilgrim Monument stairs is a fun workout… running up them in a firefighter’s full turn out gear–that’s a fundraiser!

Outer Cape Chorale – (Cancelled)
Friday, May 15— Saturday, May 16

The 2020 spring concert’s theme is America’s Journey in Song and takes place May 15 and 16 at Provincetown Town Hall.

Single Women’s Weekend – (Cancelled Until 2021)
Friday, May 15 —Sunday, May 17

An opportunity for lesbians to connect, perchance to eventually marry! Meet- and-greets, speed dating, shows, and other events.

Ferry Service Resumes
Friday, May 16

Bay State Cruise Company kicks off its 2020 season on May 15.

Broto Conference – (Will be held online)
Saturday, May 16 — Sunday, May 17

A weekend of exploration how art and climate can scale science globally — an ongoing experiment in art and science collaboration addressing climate change.

Monumental Yard Sale Weekend
Saturday, May 16 — Sunday, May 17

Town Provincetown’s hidden treasures and bargains abound, whether in our shops or on our streets! treasure!

Twenty Summers – (Postponed until Fall)
Friday, May 15 — Saturday, June 13 – (Now September 25 – October 17)

Twenty Summers fosters public engagement with art and artists and honors the legacy of art in Provincetown.

Memorial Day Weekend
Thursday, May 21 — Monday, May 25

Also known as “Baby Dyke Weekend” for the attracted demographic, there are myriad parties, along with boating, dancing, pool parties, and drinking. A lot of drinking.

Cabaretfest
Wednesday, May 27, – Sunday, May 31

Four days of parties, workshops, performances and networking—and music, music, music!

Winter in Provincetown

June 2020

Women of Color Weekend
Thursday, June 4—Sunday, June 7

A four-day Pride event designed to elevate, strengthen, educate and celebrate LGBTQIA women of color, trans- people of color, non-binary people of color, gender-fluid people of color and their accomplices.

Pride Weekend
Friday, June 5—Sunday, June 7

Now in its third year, the Provincetown Pride celebration starts on Friday with music, a gay market and a Pride parade, and lots and lots of parties!

Heritage Day Celebration
Thursday, June 11

An annual celebration of the community’s rich history; the individual being honored will be selected in the spring.

WorldFest 2020
Sunday, June 14 and Monday, June 15

Provincetown’s annual international cultural festival.

Provincetown International Film Festival
Wednesday, June 17—Sunday, June 21

Showcases new achievements in independent film and honoring the work of emerging as well as acclaimed directors, producers and actors.

Men of Color Weekend
Thursday, June 18—Sunday, June 21

Annual summer celebration brought presented by the Men of Melanin.

Portuguese Festival & Blessing of the Fleet
Thursday, June 25—Sunday, June 28

Four days of live music, dancing, parades, incredible food, games, and more, capped off by the parade of boats and the blessing.

 

July 2020

July 4th and Independence Week
Sunday, June 28—Saturday, July 5

This is party-week central in Ptown, alternately referred to as circuit-boy week, twink week, or pretty-boy week; you get the picture. A young, energetic crowd. The town puts on a reworks show (~8:45pm over Provincetown Harbor) and a Parade (~11am) to celebrate the 4th of July.

Bear Week
Saturday, July 11—Sunday, July 19

The largest bear event in the world, with Ptown overrun by hair, leather, and large men. Restaurants love the bears!

PAAM Annual Secret Garden Tour
Sunday, July 12

Girl Splash
Tuesday, July 21—Saturday, July 25

Concerts, comediennes, parties, dancing and more for the summer women’s festival in Provincetown.

Cape Cod Dance Festival
Saturday, July 25

The program will include some of the highest caliber American choreographers, dancers, and dance companies.

GLAD Summer Party
Saturday, July 25

The Summer Party includes a delicious taste of summer, a gorgeous view of Provincetown, and a fabulous opportunity to support GLAD’s critical work.

Family Week
Saturday, July 25—Saturday, August 1

The largest annual gathering in the world of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer-identified parents and their families. Sponsored by the Family Equality Council, this fun-filled week will include more opportunities than ever to build community. All families are welcome!

Winter in Provincetown

August 2020

Pan Mass Challenge
Saturday, August 1—Sunday, August 2

The largest single athletic charity event in the country, the Pan-Mass Challenge (PMC), brings together thousands of impassioned cyclists, committed volunteers, generous donors and dedicated corporate sponsors each year. Together, they provide Dana-Farber’s doctors and researchers the necessary resources to discover treatments and cures for all types of cancer.

Whale Week
Sunday, August 2—Saturday, August 8

Sponsored by the Center for Coastal Studies, this is a week filled with educational activities and opportunities for everyone.

Provincetown Jazz Festival
Wednesday, August 12

Jazz up your summer at the 16th annual Provincetown Jazz Festival August 12th.

Carnival 2020: Holidays
Saturday, August 15—Sunday, August 22
Provincetown’s Carnival is one of the largest outdoor celebrations in Massachusetts with a week of revelry, costumes, and a parade.

 

September 2020

Celebration of Life Concert
Friday, September 11

It’s the prelude to the next morning’s Swim for Life and a celebration of everything Provincetown.

Swim for Life
Saturday, September 12

Celebrating its 33rd year in 2020, this quintessential Provincetown tradition symbolizes the heroic efforts of a community devastated by the pandemic and its unequivocal response to it.

Afterglow Festival
Tuesday, September 15—Saturday, September 19
Now in its tenth year, a gathering in Provincetown of both renowned and under-the-radar innovative stage artists evolving the world of live performance.

Cape Cod Classic
Thursday, September 17—Saturday, September 19
The NGPA is the largest organization of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender aviation professionals and enthusiasts from around the world.

Yankee Lambda Car Show
Friday, September 18—Sunday, September 20
The Yankee Lambda Car Club is in town with the coolest cars ever! Event includes car show, parade through town, banquet and awards, and a tour of Heritage Museum car collection.

Provincetown Book Festival
Saturday, September 19—Sunday, September 20
The festival seeks to benefit the community by hosting a variety of events that include author readings and presentations, panel discussions, book signings, workshops, and gatherings and conversations.

Pet Appreciation Week
Sunday, September 20—Saturday, September 26
A pet parade, dog show, and other activities all to benefit the Carrie A. Seamen Animal Shelter in Provincetown.

Tennessee Williams Theater Festival
Thursday, September 24—Sunday, September 27
The festival honors Tennessee Williams by presenting his classic and undiscovered plays, the work of his peers, and new work inspired by Williams’ creative vision worldwide.

PAAM Consignment Auction
Saturday, September 26
PAAM’s annual consignment auction is a spectacular live event that features the work of late regional artists. Held annually in September, PAAM’s consignment auction features artwork by deceased artists who lived, studied, or worked on Cape Cod.

There’s more where that came from! Ptownie has insider tips for all of your Provincetown adventures. Check out our 2020 Guide to Indoor Activities in Provincetown, MA!